Making my first armor

A hayabusa helmet is high on my "need to print list".

I'm new to making armor as well and was pretty terrified to get started for the same reason! After getting the scaling set in armorsmith, I then would print test rings for each armor piece. For some pieces (like the chest) I'd print half of the armor with 2 walls and 0-3% infill to test how it would fit. Some people have their armorsmith dialed in enough that they skip test ring all together.

Once you get started you'll build momentum.

A hayabusa helmet is high on my "need to print list".

I'm new to making armor as well and was pretty terrified to get started for the same reason! After getting the scaling set in armorsmith, I then would print test rings for each armor piece. For some pieces (like the chest) I'd print half of the armor with 2 walls and 0-3% infill to test how it would fit. Some people have their armorsmith dialed in enough that they skip test ring all together.

Once you get started you'll build momentum.
By ring test do you mean just like circles to see how everything prints?

By ring test do you mean just like circles to see how everything prints?
Sorry I should have specified, but you're right. If I thought a piece might be too small, like the opening for the hands on the gauntlets, I'd print that portion of armor, then scale accordingly.

Hi there!

I am brand new to making armor and have always wanted to make the hayabusa armor from halo 3. I have a 3d printer and armor smith but have been too afraid to try because i do not want mess up. If there are tips and tricks and advice please leave them in the thread
As someone in the middle of my full suit build, failure is your best friend to learning. I have failed on the most easiest mistakes, expensive mistakes, and hard to notice mistakes. Even when I finish I'll probably have a mistake or two, but that's what makes it such a great learning experience!!! Don't be afraid to mess up.