Dad wanting to build my son a halo helmet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ross Thain

Hi been looking online and seen a few videos etc. I've never done anything like this before just want to do something cool for him. Was just going to buy but thought **** it I'll give this ago. I'm in the UK so just looking what I need and what shops etc to buy from. Where to get blue prints and instructions from. Any advice would be appreciated.

The Armory
The Armory | Halo Costume and Prop Maker Community - 405th

Houses all of our Pepakura and EVA foam blueprint files. What is Pepakura? Pepakura is Japanese paper model making program that many years ago ambitious costumers realised that models from games could be imported into and used to make life size replicas. Pepakura was originally intended to be used for folding cardstock paper, which for costumes is then reinforced with Fiberglass. People have also found ways to slightly modify those paper based files for use with EVA to avoid some of the issues that come with Fiberglass.

All of which means that first you will need to get yourself a copy of Pepakura to make either a foam or a fiberglass helmet. There are two versions of Pepakura, a free version which does not allow you to safe any changes you make to a model, like changes in size and scaling, and a pay version which does.

For using EVA foam there are many good YouTube tutorials from people like EvilTed and PunishedProps.

For paper and fiberglass use there are a great many tutorials here on the Forums that can be found with minimal searching.

Also not to be nitpicky, but please watch your language around here; we try not to be offensive in that way. Or other ways...

Looking forward to seeing what you do! It's always exciting when someone starts a build. Good luck!

Also not to be nitpicky, but please watch your language around here; we try not to be offensive in that way. Or other ways...