Duct Tape Mannequin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason 078

The first thing that is necessary, from everywhere I have seen, is to make a duct tape dummy. Well, since I already am a duct tape dummy, I am going to make a mannequin with duct tape. I have never done this before because sintra is relatively simple to form to a body (to an extent). You just heat it in boiling water and push it onto a piece of clothing. Well, with the temperatures necessary to mold the foam, that is not going to be an option.

Materials:
● 4 rolls of duct tape
● Painter’s coverall
● A pair of scissors
● Two pairs of socks
● PVC pipes and fittings
● 20-pounds of poly fill
● One wife to assist
● Three hours

First of all, I am using a painter’s disposable coverall. I do not have any long-sleeve clothing that I am willing to lose and the painter’s coverall provides a good base for the tape. I would like to have found one with a hood, but that was not an option at my local store. So, to protect my neck, I cut the sleeve off of an old BDU t-shirt and used that as a temporary neck seal. I pulled a pair of socks over my hands and feet, over the coverall, to protect my skin and give another base. As I look back on it, I would definitely have worn them under the coverall because the tape didn’t want to attach to it.

72382101.jpg

The first thing you are going to want to do is tape the socks down to prevent them from moving as the tape is wrapped. This is important as duct tape does some very not-nice things to skin. I also taped around the neck seal for the same reason.

Note: please excuse the scruffiness. My face is an energy-saving model and is only shaved when necessary.

34649545.jpg

Due to lack of other hands, there are few photos of the process. However, I can assure you that it was quite interesting. We used 18-inch strips of tape as it is less constrictive than rolling it around the body. However, as you can see, it still does well to show the contours.