Flexible PLA for 3D Printed Armor?

I2aMpAnT

Wondering if anyone has attempted this yet? I’m considering re-printing my entire suit over again to get the advantages of it being flexible.

IMG_3775.jpeg

A few people have been doing flexible printed suits lately. DeltaAlphaZulu did one with TPU recently. SamuelHan was working on one I think also TPU. I'm doing a rakshasa in TPU. Have done parts w/ Flexible PLA but none of those were finished and painted.
I've heard the flexible PLA is much easier to print, prepare, and paint. It's got me curious!

i have used it and it does print easier and paint just like pla but when it gets flexed hard it will chip the paint right off or totally crack the part. i printed my chiefs chest in the flex pla and it looked good and all then i back in to the wall in my shop to see how it handled the rub it cracked in a couple of seams and the paint started flaking off. now i am not a pro painter so did i seal it right? not sure but i scraped the plan and went back to what i use which is regular pla and now im on to foam so i can mix the two. but i wish you well and it may work for you give it a try you never know till you try.

On my E5+ I would say, yes, it was easier to be able to print Flex PLA over TPU. I used regular PLA settings just slowed down. I haven't even tried TPU on that printer though since I've bought better printers in that time. That said I've been using Overture High Speed TPU for my current build which has printed like a dream on the other printers.