1st Build New to Prop Making

Torek Vainer

This is my first time doing any sort of actual cosplay, with 3D prints (The printer is a very small plate 4'' by 5''). Or really anything serious in regards to complete ground up cosplays. Im in the works of a mix of EVA foam and resin printed armor pieces for an ODST outfit. Mixing Reach armor an ODST. The point of the this post, sorry for the weird intro, was to get the opinion on my first prop of the M7S SMG. This is resin printed, it was morphed and had issues printed, but short story short I just forced and sanded the pieces to fit. The printing took a little over a week, of continuous printing. Obviously printed in separated pieces, 8 pieces total. This is more or a less a prototype/test paint build. But I wanted the communities opinion on it, is it a decent first attempt? What should I do to add to it? What looks glaringly wrong? Any and all feedback is highly appreciated.

Also Im new here, and its been a pleasure and honor to read and see everyone's work and the amazing recourses of the community, so thank you. All of you.
smg1.PNG
smg2.PNG
smg3.PNG
smg4.PNG
smg5.PNG

1. Clearly a ton of effort and a lot of good workmanship/skills - no doubt
  2. Terrific metallic painting skills!
  3. Seams. They're all visible. It doesn't look like you tried to fill them at all. Since you've got UV resin that should be pretty easy: Drip in the groove and light it up with UV. {repeat as needed}
  4. I think your skill at weathered/corroded is amazing! But I question if this gun should have been corroded: Is that proper for this weapon?
    1. I don't know any soldier that would let his weapon get like this. You said active-duty ODST, right? Even rebels understand that you take care of your weapon and it will take care of you.
      2024-08-19_20-36-55.PNG
    2. Seems like a lot of brass for a gun body. Gun bodies generally aren't brass: Its not a good metal for firearms.