Good Forum Etiquette

cloudy

Hello everyone! I am new to the 405th and also forums in general (I mostly use discord). Because of that, I am not super familiar with the etiquette of forums. I looked it up on google and the things I found said:

Don't doxx people (obviously)
Don't make a whole post in all caps
Don't be rude

My question is, are there any other unspoken rules that I (or any newcomers) should know? Thank you!

Welcome!
Those are certainly some good ones. Others guidelines generally would include

• Avoid necroposting - check the post before yours and if it's old (good rule of thumb is if it's > 3mo and not your thread it's likely a necropost. Doesn't mean you can't reply, just be aware and ask yourself if what you have to add to the thread is wort pushing down other, newer content.
    • We have a nice little banner that warns you about it too when you go to post.
    • Example
      1712766257474.png
  • If you forgot something or want to add to something in your post and no one has commented since then consider editing your post rather than adding a new one.
    • This is especially true if your last post was recent
    • Obviously new posts on your build thread for progress or splitting sections of the build (e.g. post for forearms, post for shins, etc.) are fine

I'm sure you'll be fine. You'll pick up on any etiquette as you use and learn more about the forums.

Biggest thing, Take your time.

Unlike Discord or other Social Media applications there is not truly a sense of immediacy here and as such there is less of a feeling of urgency. You can take the time to craft your submissions or responses.

One aspect of this is that making multiple posts in rapid succession is most often viewed as "Spamming" and is frowned upon. This can happen in two instances: