ODST Foam Scratch Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mangos

So this is my first build, and my first time ever working with foam, so any tips or trick would be much appreciated :D

So like all foam builds, it starts with the foam,
7892000678_9e0356c4d5_z.jpg

Without any real knowledge of how to start, I just picked an image of the lower legs and started going for it. They progressed rather quickly and I got both legs done in a day.

They started with just the lower curved part,
7891977898_af11ccb1b4_z.jpg

Then quickly grew to whole completed fronts (with lack of a heat gun, I used a lighter to shape the foam, so excuse the carbon residue)
7891978102_849ce6bc94_z.jpg

Once the template for the back-of-the-leg was cut out, I cut the foam and had trouble with it keeping the shape, so I heated it and rubber-banded the two halves together and that did the trick fairly well
7891978002_899f2c5230_z.jpg

Next was strapping! I added 4 straps to one side as "hinges" to allow the piece to go onto my leg easier. The other side has two buckles.
7891977804_867da0ac3e_z.jpg

All that is really left is to fill in the seams and paint them up. I do have a few questions for those interested in answering.

What is the best method to fill in the seams?
What's the best way to reinforce the foam and make it more rigid?
What exactly is this "plasti-dip"?

Thanks for looking guys and I will try to update once a day, if not every other day.

Wow that turned out pretty sweet for a first attempt at a foam scratch build. I have personally never used plasti dip however from what I gather here on the forums it's used to seal the foam and rubberize it. Whether or not it makes it more rigid is beyond me. I'm certain there are much more qualified people to address your questions.
To fill in the seams...
...silicone cocking maybe?