My first armour build- MKVI in foam (Will be photo heavy in time!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rooney

Good evening esteemed ladies and gentlemen of the 405th! After being inspired by browsing this forum on and off since I started cosplaying, and seeing the Spartans at Expo in October, I've finally gathered the courage (and supplies!) to start a MKIV build in tandem with a friend of mine, hopefully to be finished in time for May Expo 2013. I'll be red and he'll be blue, and I'm sure there'll be hi-jinx aplenty...

But first, some progress shots (As suggested by the title, I'm a noob at this sort of thing, so be gentle!). We're using the Robogenesis foam pep files, and have started with the right forearm

rightforearmWIP4_zps3997de28.jpg

rightforearmWIP3_zps54c2ceaf.jpg

rightforearmWIP5_zps3ab90d67.jpg

It's been quite a learning curve, but I'm quietly pleased with the fact that it's come together and actually resembles what it's supposed to. I've got the parts for the left forearm cut and ready to be sanded/cut to get the angles tomorrow, and thought I'd share!

Finally got some more progress! The biceps are assembled;

rightbicep_zpse3058f0d.jpg

And a quick shot of the parachute clip that makes it that tiny bit easier to get the biceps on and off

bicepinside_zpseeabe8a6.jpg

Now, if I can ever get my damned printer working, I'll be starting on the chest piece. I'm running out of time to complete this by the target date of late May this year....

Foam work looks great and your deadline seems to be very ascertainable if you can keep this pace.

Great work! Ive never built with foam (pepakura til i die) but this looks like a promising build. I had problems with my printer as well, I started going to the local library to print my pep work. They are usually cool about letting you use card stock.