Kensai's Halo Reach - Jorge-052 Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

kensai111

Hello my dear friends, I know what you're thinking a Reach armor build already? Yep, some special news came down the chain of command and in turn I'm building myself a new set of armor for something special in the future. Herein will be my journey of my fifth set of armor (yeah really, I've already built 3 Mark VI and a Medic). I've already got a bunch of reference photos from the waist up and I have a contact who's going to provide me with some shots of the legs.

GEORGE5.jpg

Obligatory picture. Now onto actual crafting - I'm a scratch builder at heart so I won't be waiting around on those pep files. Full speed ahead.

Update #1:

chest1.jpg

Cardboard soaked in a white glue/water combination adhered to a previous Mark VI chest. No need for scaling building off a chest that already fits fine.

UPDATE #2:

IMG_0431.jpg

It's still ugly woot! However if you notice there's only the 2 small strips of tape holding to the chest (where it will connect to the backpack which doesn't exist at the moment). It's finally dried out and been cooked into a chest-like shape. Next I'll be trimming the edges up and putting in support struts so I can remove it from the chest plate entirely. Then comes the ACTUAL building of the new armor on this base aka results. On the plus side this ugly thing is scaled perfectly to my body already.

see I've got the front part of the neck hole cut as close as I can tell from the trailer (I can always go back and add or subtract at a later phase). I've got the base foundation for the bomb collar in, I still need the cut and round the back of the neck hole though. I forsee me hacking off a good portion of the chest as there is little to no armor beyond the canister. On the plus side I also discovered a pretty decent placeholder for the canister - 2 100 count CD spindel tops glued together. I'll investigate into it further and see if it looks right proportionally.