Progress thread - custom Reach build from a novice

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubbishBin

Hi everyone,
it's that time of year where I'm giving myself a highly ambitious progress with a steep learning curve. This year, I'm attempting to construct myself EVA and pep armour so I can fulfill my childhood dream of becoming my Halo Reach Spartan. I was a novice when I first started, as in not knowing what pepakura was, not knowing what the armour was made of, and having had no experience other than seeing professional cosplayers. I gave myself probably three weeks of research before allowing myself to jump into construction.

This is what I'm looking for. Yes, probably like lots of other first-timers wanting to make super high-detail suits, but that's my baby boy. The first step was finding files, which thanks to you lovely bunch, was not that difficult if you know where to look. Second was scaling. I'm 6'5"/195cm so I thought that would be a huge issue. Thankfully, thus far, my measurements have actually been pretty close to the files' original sizes (emphasis on thus far). Third, I began construction. More below.

Vanity_636575822081842463.png

The first thing I attempted was the wrist tacpad, and it was basically a complete disaster. I set out my pep templates, ready and keen for my first piece to look shmick, only to find using 10mm foam for a high-detail wrist piece is not a good idea.
ekhit4.jpg